Taking 5 with Bardot’s Art Director

There is no doubt the team at Bardot are a clever bunch, but none so much as their Art Director Kara. Check out this interesting interview on her life and how she got where she is today!

My job is – Art Director

I studied – Bachelor of Communication (Graphic Design) at RMIT

I got my job by – Doing lots of work experience in the industry then getting my foot in the door at another Melbourne fashion head office which then led me to gain the experience I needed to move to Bardot!

In a typical working day for me – Each day is very different, I can be doing things like designing artwork for online or in store, coming up with concepts for our next photoshoot, or be on set art directing shoots.

The best thing about my job is – working with lots of creative people from models and photographers to advertising agencies and designers.

People find my job interesting because – every day is different to the next, I am always working on new and different things.

I couldn’t do my job without – My Apple computer! I am the only one in the office with one!

My advice to anyone looking to work in the fashion industry is – get your foot in the door by doing plenty of work experience or internships.

I would describe my signature style as – Quite masculine, basics mixed with more detailed pieces.

Words by – Bardotstylefile.com.au

